Author Topic: Greyed out skins  (Read 262 times)

Offline k6jea

  • Just starting...
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Jim
Greyed out skins
« on: July 29, 2017, 01:08:10 pm »
New guy here.

When I log on to a remote station, the receiver skin is mostly greyed out. Just a few controls are available. I have uploaded my license and am being granted control op status on various stations but still am not seeing the full control menu. What am I missing?

Thanks,
Jim

Online w8rj

  • Moderator
  • Remote Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 1948
Re: Greyed out skins
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2017, 01:26:47 pm »
Different remotes will have different controls and the remote owner also has the option to show what controls he wants to show.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2017, 01:29:29 pm by w8rj »
73
Roger
W8RJ

Offline k6jea

  • Just starting...
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Jim
Re: Greyed out skins
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2017, 02:37:01 pm »
ok, I'll keep trying.

Jim

Offline m3ghe

  • Moderator
  • Remote Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
    • Barney's online radios
Re: Greyed out skins
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2017, 11:16:24 pm »
Jim a screenshot is always useful in these situations.
Greyed out buttons are not normal. Buttons etc only appear if they have been made available for use, even if they are restricted to use by certain members they wont appear as greyed out. So lets see a screenshot. 
« Last Edit: July 30, 2017, 11:20:55 pm by m3ghe »

Offline k6jea

  • Just starting...
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Jim
Re: Greyed out skins
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2017, 09:37:52 am »
Sorry for being so long in replying.

I'll try for a screenshot.

Offline kg6ypi

  • Administrator
  • Remote Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
    • RemoteHams.com
Re: Greyed out skins
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2017, 10:25:53 am »
Anti-Virus programs can prevent the background image from loading in the Skin which can result in what appears to be a "gray or black screen".

This may or may not be a similar issue,
http://www.remotehams.com/forums/index.php/topic,2049.msg8868.html#msg8868

Offline k6jea

  • Just starting...
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Jim
Re: Greyed out skins
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2017, 07:33:45 am »
Thanks for the link. It definitely wasn't that bad. I pretty sure it was just my "newness" that was the issue. I expected all the function buttons to be available on all the station skins. I now see, after spending some time with the program, that isn't the case. I have my K3 Mini on line with the client software and have made some contacts. Now I'm trying to get my K3s and the server software to talk to each other.

Thanks,
Jim